Celebrating the History of Motion Pictures from 1890 to 1960

Casablanca (1942)


“Casablanca” was nominated for eight Academy Awards and won three, including the Oscar for Best Picture. In 1989, “Casablanca” was among the first twenty-five films named to the National Film Registry.

Read More

The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951)

The Day the Earth Stood Still 1951

The Day the Earth Stood Still won the 1951 Golden Globe Award for “Best Picture Promoting International Understanding”. It was also nominated that year for a Golden Globe Award for “Best Original Score”.

Read More

Rebecca (1940)

Rebecca 1940

“Rebecca” was nominated for 11 Academy Awards, and won two including the Oscar for “Outstanding Production” (Best Picture). This would be the only movie for which Hitchcock would win an Academy Award for “Best Picture”.

Read More

error: Content is Copyright Protected!